Case File 001-Rise of the Guard

by CM Towns

The Guard is a YA saga about a group off teenage superpowers and vigilantes who come together to kick super-villain ass. The first story I did was entitled Rise of the Guard. Here’s the write up.

Its been three years since the dawn of the superhuman age. When a runaway known only as Araminta finds herself the target of mysterious men she is rescued by the worlds first superhero Reina Titán. Araminta is then introduced to a group of teenage heroes who have banded together to take down the terrorist organization known as the Teiwaz. An evil society that has infiltrated the United States government and is kidnapping and experimenting on teenagers to build into a future superhuman army. Only this young group of heroes have what it takes to stop them.

The first story introduced the core team of Kid Victory, Reina Titán, Red Sprite, Mr. Monster, SubHuman, Huntsman, and Araminta as well as the villainous organization known as the Teiwaz. It also introduces a few supporting players and has a cameo, of sorts, from Kid Victory’s partner. You can check out all their profiles HERE.

As for the story it self, I went through multiple drafts and had yelling fits with myself (not really). A good first chapter is hard to produce but I think the first chapter here did a good job of kicking off the story and tone. SubHuman was a later edition in my first story as I felt things were missing. While he’s not a favorite to write I think he works fine off the cast. I admit that my teams big three of Reina, Sprite and Victory are my favorites to focus on. I believe it shows, especially with one chapter with Sprite toward the end. The Teiwaz is a pretty easy to hate set of villains but I like to think the villain of Master-Doctor stands out here. I wanted to just do a fun action teen superhero story.

Check out the story HERE if you haven’t already. Details on the new story in a few weeks but until then more plugs of my previous Case Files.

