Case File 002-Old Monsters

by CM Towns

The Guard is a YA saga about a group off teenage superpowers and vigilantes who come together to fight against the forces of evil. The second story I did was entitled Old Monsters. Here’s the write up.

The teenage heroes of the Guard are working to get their operation up and running. They continue to look into Teiwaz activities as well as creating files on potential dangers, setting up an off site Intelligence Hub and planning renovations to their secret headquarters. All this while getting to know one another better. Soon a museum robbery brings new trouble the teams way. An ancient evil whose been awakened and set upon the world to create terror and chaos. Its up to the Guard to face down the monster and then the puppeteer behind the scenes. A being of incredible power and unknown motives.

Read it HERE or start from the beginning HERE.

The second team finds the group bonding together and creating their work environment/home. This is the first story where Kid Victory’s partner and the teams Intelligence officer Kate Stokes makes a full appearance. There is also an appearance from Reina Titáns best friend as well as an extended cameo from a certain character who plays important parts in future stories. A character that ties into the world building. Plus of course the stories bad guy, Vizier. You check out the profiles HERE.

As for the building of the story, a couple chapters I used here were taken from a random Guard story I started writing before I finished the first case file Rise of the Guard. While I was having problems getting everything there I decided to skip to a possible second story. Before the skip I was not using the base and certain attitudes to a few characters changed. So that helped with the first case file and also, of course, this one. I also used a chapter I left on the floor from an early drat of the first story. However I chose not to push with the original bad guy and added some other elements. Came out pretty well. I think its stronger overall if less action packed.

Details on the new case file soon. Next time I’ll plug the 3rd story.

