Case File 003: Kirby City Crackle

by CM Towns

The Guard is a YA saga about a group off teenage superpowers and vigilantes who come together to fight against the worst scum out there. The third story I did was entitled Kirby City Crackle. Here’s the write up.

The Guard is currently split between both coasts, working on their training. Jessie and Sally are overseeing Reed and Araminta while Antoine is leading Frank and Elijah. Antoine, better known as Kid Victory, gets the news of a jail break and finds out one of his rogues has decided to return to Kirby City to throw a party. One that includes a few very dangerous individuals, trained mercs, and local thugs looking to have fun. Now the team has to get together, curb the destruction and take out the numerous bad guys. Easier said than done, especially when Kid Victory discovers the real reason behind the assault on Kirby City.

Read it HERE or start from 001 HERE.

The third story reminds me of the origins of the project. Before this I tried a Reina Titán/Red Sprite but before that I did a bunch of Kid Victory comic scripts. The scripts were for fun but the Reina knovel was serious but after multiple drafts I abandoned it. Then I decided to combine both worlds which worked because in the KV stuff I allude to a world of superheroes outside Kid Victory’s home without visiting that. In Reina Titán novel I state there was magic or aliens. Combining the worlds I use Reina and Sprite as the kick off because they are based in magic and alien existence. Throughout the first stories I make mentions of this here and there but in 003 I give more focus to Kid Victory who is more traditional Western superhero style.

The story focus’ on a rogue known as Mr. Ash assembling a team to burn down Kid Victory’s city and defeat him. Very simple but I think the Guard needed a big super-villain team face down. Mr. Ash and Cektic were villains in those old KV scripts though I tie Cektics origins more toward Reina and Sprite’s tenure as a superhero fighting alien invaders. You see KV’s partner Kate Storkes, the Professor and little seen 8th member, get an expanded role here. She is a carry over as is KV’s family though I made slight change to his brother. I also spotlight Kid Victory’s former partner who i teased in the first story. There are a number of changes between those old school Kid Victory scripts and the one here in the Guard but I don’t think I need to get into detail.

While it is mostly focused on KV’s rogues and background I do introduce Reina Titán’s family. Changed a bit from how I presented them in my attempted novel. Plus another cameo from Reina’s best friend who played a big supporting role in that abandoned novel. For the rest of the team, they are split between Kid Victory’s city and Reina’s city but they all come together to battle the villains. Check out all the profiles HERE.

Later this week I’ll spotlight the 4th story and then the week after start teasing the 5th story. Remind me to start doing the HTML set up.

